Saturday, November 7, 2009

First Batch Brewing!

OK, got my first batch done earlier today! Had a few 'interesting' moments...I learned that, just like I had learned last time that boiling wort WILL try and jump out of the pot...somehow I thought that didn't apply today, and my range was brown for a brief moment because of it. Also learned to never put your hops in a grain bag over the sink...lost a few pellets that way, luckily nothing more. Also learned that grain bags > trying to scoop and strain hops and grains out of the wort.

So for the first batch I did up a Dunkleweiss. Simple recipe and I love dark wheat beers. It was as follows:

6 2/3 lb wheat extract (55/45)
1 1/2 lb plain dark extract
1 oz Saaz hops (used pelets)
1/2 pound chocolate malt
1/2 pound roasted barley
Weihenstephaner yeast (Wyeast)
OG: 1.043

I ended up with a gravity of 1.045...so that's a win for me. After testing gravity I gave it a quick taste and it's SWEET. I think it'll end up pretty good, though. For the next time around I'll probably up the grains by a 1/2 pound and use something a little nuttier. I'll also throw in an extra 1/2 ounce of hops about halfway through to balance it out a little better.

Overall I think this will be a good drinkin' beer. Something a lot of people will like, even if they're not real beer drinkers...you know, the guys who live off bud light and MGD ;)

Photobucket


Photobucket


Make sure you sanitize! Good water = good beer. This was cheap walmart "spring water". Tastes better then mine.
Photobucket


Photobucket


When the next batch comes around there will be a homebrew in that glass ;)
Photobucket


Brewing in progress!
Photobucket


I'll get more photos of the fermenting beer tomorrow!

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Homebrew!

OK...I think I may finally be close to getting my homebrew setup going.

Payday is tomorrow...got some nice overtime on there...gonna go grab the CO2 system tomorrow or Friday and finish up the hardware portion of the setup.

I'm thinking of starting out with an IPA or double IPA...I think it's a little too early for a stout...a little too late for Oktoberfest...I might try my hand with a dopplebock, actually.

Pics will come soon of the setup and process!

Monday, November 2, 2009

Dogfish Head Aprihop


I bought a 4 pack of this a few months back.  Tried one and the rest went in time out in the back of my fridge for a long, long while.  I did NOT like this beer when I first tried it...it was a very good example of 'go home and try again'.  Let's see what a little time out can do for it...

12 fl.oz bottle poured in glass

Appearance

Pours a very clear, dark amber with a two finger head.  I could pour this from a third story window and I don't think I'd get much more of a head.  Disappears quickly, it's almost gone as I'm finishing this sentence.

Smell

Upfront citrus smell with a bit of hops added in.  A slight malty undertone to it as well, it just cuts through enough to pick up. not as hoppy as I thought it would be considering it's an IPA, and no real apricot smell, either.

Taste

A slightly sweet, very citrusy (that IS a word.....) taste that blasts me right away. Like I just bit into a grapefruit. Reminds me a bit of some of the lambic beers I've tried.  I very dry finish with just a hint of alcohol. There's a distinct 'bitterness' to it that I don't care for...while I've never tried it, I'm almost thinking this is what straight fruit extract tastes like...it's kind of like apricots, but without the sweetness. For an IPA I was disappointed in the lack of hops.  Maybe that's the aging toning it down a bit...or maybe it's that nasty faux-apricot taste overpowering it.

Mouth

Average body with a decent amount of carbonation.  It's acidic at first then warms up a bit with the alcohol aftertaste.  Reasonably balanced, I don't have many complaints here.

Overall

It's...OK.  It's a step up from the first one I had, that's for sure.  I just really can't get around that nasty fake apricot taste.  Then again...I did say I hated fruit beers...this will not be an exception to that rule. This seems like a far deviation from a traditional IPA.  Props to DFH for doing something different...but perhaps they should switch directions with this one. I'm always up for a new style or deviation thereof, so it's a good thing brewers are still trying...even if the results are less then desirable. 

I'm halfway through right now, and I'll finish it just to say I finished it...I might have to try it on tap to see if it's any better, or maybe try a different batch.  Maybe you can still have a case of the Monday's at a brewery...I give it a 0.5/4.0

Rating System

Figured it'd be a good idea to post a 'cheat sheet' of sorts so you all can actually know what I'm thinking...

I'm basing all my scores on a standard 4 point system just like in the good 'ole days of high school and college...a score of 4.0 is the best, and 0.0 is a score of go home and try again.

This should help give you an idea of what a specific number score means in my head:

4.0 Best beer of this particular style.  Not my absolute favorite beer of all time ever in the history of Joeywhat, but definitely the best I've had of that individual style of beer.

3.0-3.9 Very good beer that I would drink again.  Something I'd order at the bar if I saw it was on tap.  Very good representation of the style, it tastes great and tastes like it should.  A beer that I'll make a point of buying on a regular basis.

2.0-2.9 Good beer that stays true to the style, but has some flaws.  One of those beers that I'd have again if I saw it in a store and was in the mood for that style.  Not a favorite, but it's beer...and beer is good.

1.5-1.9 Mediocre brew that doesn't stick to the style it's supposed to be, and/or just doesn't taste good.  Might have serious flaws in it, might just be a bad recipe.  This is something that I'll avoid, but if you put it in front me (and the bill in front of you...) I'll drink it just for shits and giggles.

0.1-1.4 BAD beer.  Tastes bad, smells bad, looks bad...I can finish it, but I won't enjoy it.  I would NOT seek this beer out in any way, shape or form.

0.0 This is reserved for the bad of the bad.  One of those beers that is so skanky and awful that you just have to throw it out.  If a beer gets this distinction, please walk away...in fact run away, because it might be radioactive and cancer is a bitch.

So I hope this helps everyone out a bit.  I didn't want people to think that a beer with a 2.0 or 2.5 rating was bad...rather it's just a little bit special and needs to take the different bus to school.  

Sunday, November 1, 2009

Why are you here?

Or more importantly...why am I here?

Sort of jumped into things and never bothered to offer an 'intro' of sorts so all you fine folks know what you're supposed to be reading, and what might be coming around the corner.  I created this with the primary intentions of documenting all the beers I've tried and my recently renewed homebrewing operation.  I haven't been drinking beer for very long, however I've made it a point to go and try every micro and macro out there to be drank...or is that drunk?  I can think of no better way to track what's been had and what hasn't...and more importantly what was good and what tasted like a well used tire.

I'm also on the verge of homebrewing again.  I had a stint a few years back where I made quite a few brews, and by the end it was GOOD.  And more importantly, I LIKED it!  It's such a fun process and the results are very rewarding.  I'll be using this to document my brews from start to finish, and to show my progression in equipment, recipes and skills as time goes on.  My ultimate goal in doing this is to potentially start my own brewpub...many years down the road.


So I hope you all enjoy my findings and endeavors into beerdom, please feel free to comment and let me know what you think!  I'm always open for suggestions on good homebrew recipes and different craft beers that I may not have heard of yet.  Now I'm back to work...I have a fridge full of good beer that needs reviewing!