Tuesday, December 29, 2009
Another Brew In The Fermenter
Recipe:
6 pounds liquid light extract
1 pound carapils
0.5 oz Centennial @ 45 minutes
0.5 oz Centennial @ 20 min
.25 oz Cascade @ 10 min
.25 oz Cascade @ 5 min
White Labs California Ale Yeast
It's supposed to have only 0.5 oz TOTAL Centennial hops, but I'm a moron and used a full ounce...oh well. Good thing I like hops...
The darker extract should make it a little darker then normal, but it should still have a pretty light body. I used the late extract method to try and keep the color ligher. I added about 2 pounds or so (if that) right at the beginning of the boil as people who know more then I do say it's a good idea...then the rest just after adding the Cascade hops at 20 minutes. The idea is to stop the extract from scorching, so hopefully the end result will be better. Hopefully get the final gravity down a little more then usually too.
This will be a quick beer, so hopefully in two weeks this will be ready to drink ;)
Friday, December 11, 2009
It's been such a long time...
And time doesn't wait for me it keeps on rollin'...
OK, enough Boston...
I kid, you can NEVER have enough Boston.
Yeah, it's been a while. Been tied up with work and losing power for a while (it gets a little cold when you don't have a furnace in 20* weather...) and other assorted BS.
But my first brew is finally done! Yes, that's right...I have five gallons of delicious homebrew sitting in a keg in my keezer (that's a freezer version of a kegerator, you know...) being drunk on a regular basis. So how did it come out? Well let me tell you...
To start, it didn't come out as expected. And the process itself ended up being pretty interesting. I'd like to have pics up, but my memory card is at work so I have to wait until Monday. Yeah, what a bummer.
The first issue that arose was a VERY slow fermentation, and a poor gravity reading before pitching the yeast. The recipe had an OG of 1.043, which ended up being incorrect. One of the great parts of using extracts when brewing is that you can almost exactly calculate the starting gravity unless you REALLY manage to screw things up. It was supposed to be right around 1.073, which is pretty high. There's an excellent program called 'Beer Smith' that allows you to get this sort of info...HIGHLY recommended. I'm still not using it to it's full potential and it's been invaluable.
So my gravity reading being low was probably from not mixing well enough after adding my top up water. Naturally the pure water will bring the gravity down closer to 1.000. It was pure coincidence that my false OG reading was so close to the printed reading. Now onto the second problem: it really didn't end up as a dunkleweizen.
For those that have had dunkels, you know they're usually a dark caramel/brown color and taste much like a typical hefe but with some darker notes. Not this one...mine is BLACK, even in my keg lines it looks a VERY dark brown. It also doesn't taste like a wheat...I think the roasted barley was way too much for this, as it really comes through and tends to overpower the lighter wheat flavors. It also doesn't have that traditional mile high wheat head, although getting good head is often hard to get (that's what she said). It's 'good enough' I guess in that my past brews back in the day had NO head at all most times.
Now, that's not to say I don't enjoy this. It actually came out tasting pretty good. Like a maltier Guinness. In fact, I bet if I put my dunkel next to a guinness, you couldn't tell the difference save for the caramel colored head on my dunkel. This is a good thing...because I LOVE Guinness. Lots of roasted flavors pushing through, but with a light body. Alcohol percentage came out to roughly 6.5%, which is apparent as a few pints of this is all you need to get going. Might even be higher, since I don't know my OG for sure I might be off a little. One thing's for sure - this'll get you drunk.
Onto kegging...this was my first time kegging, and it was AWESOME! It's really easy to do, and SOOOO much easier, faster and cleaner then bottling. No removing a million sticker and gross labels, no rinsing and sanitizing a ton of bottles...just a single vessle to hold the delicious nectar. Santizing them was easy, I just filled the hole thing with my sanitizing solution and through in all the little parts like the valves, poppits and seals and such. Let it soak for a while and air dry for a few minutes. Then just siphon into the keg in one fell swoop.
Another time saver I found was an auto-syphon. Simple contraption, basically a racking cane inside a larger diameter tube which it can move in and out of. It forms a seal and long story short it's a super easy and CLEAN way to start a siphon. No more using your mouth to start it like a redneck stealing diesel fuel. So into the keg it goes, then close the top lid and attach the CO2 tank. Put about 5 pounds of pressure in it to seal the keg and you're good. Without the pressure, the keg doesn't seal, so it's important!
There's a few different ways to carbonate...you can prime it just like bottle carbing just with less sugar, or you can force carb it. Which is basically cranking up the pressure and forcing the CO2 into the beer. I chose the latter...because it sounds awesome and forcing stuff into other stuff is fun. Once the beer had cooled I set the pressure to 30 pounds and shook the full keg for about two minutes. Then let it sit on the pressure for a day and backed off to serving pressure, 5 pounds or so.
It started out a little...rough. It was good but clearly the CO2 had not been fully dissolved in the beer right away. It takes time, which isn't a problem. Right now I've had it kegged and carbed for about a week and it tastes SOOO much better...so if you're force carbing your beer give it some time before it starts tasting better.
So that's that I guess. I'm going to (hopefully) start batch number 2 tomorrow. I've got a few more kegs ready to rock and roll and the dunkel is getting pretty lonely by itself...I'm thinking of doing a pretty basic pale ale or similar session beer. Something with 5% or less alcohol, and a lighter taste. Something to appeal to more people and that I can drink a lot of without getting toasted after three of them.
Saturday, November 7, 2009
First Batch Brewing!
So for the first batch I did up a Dunkleweiss. Simple recipe and I love dark wheat beers. It was as follows:
6 2/3 lb wheat extract (55/45)
1 1/2 lb plain dark extract
1 oz Saaz hops (used pelets)
1/2 pound chocolate malt
1/2 pound roasted barley
Weihenstephaner yeast (Wyeast)
OG: 1.043
I ended up with a gravity of 1.045...so that's a win for me. After testing gravity I gave it a quick taste and it's SWEET. I think it'll end up pretty good, though. For the next time around I'll probably up the grains by a 1/2 pound and use something a little nuttier. I'll also throw in an extra 1/2 ounce of hops about halfway through to balance it out a little better.
Overall I think this will be a good drinkin' beer. Something a lot of people will like, even if they're not real beer drinkers...you know, the guys who live off bud light and MGD ;)






I'll get more photos of the fermenting beer tomorrow!
Wednesday, November 4, 2009
Homebrew!
Payday is tomorrow...got some nice overtime on there...gonna go grab the CO2 system tomorrow or Friday and finish up the hardware portion of the setup.
I'm thinking of starting out with an IPA or double IPA...I think it's a little too early for a stout...a little too late for Oktoberfest...I might try my hand with a dopplebock, actually.
Pics will come soon of the setup and process!
Monday, November 2, 2009
Dogfish Head Aprihop

I bought a 4 pack of this a few months back. Tried one and the rest went in time out in the back of my fridge for a long, long while. I did NOT like this beer when I first tried it...it was a very good example of 'go home and try again'. Let's see what a little time out can do for it...
12 fl.oz bottle poured in glass
Appearance
Pours a very clear, dark amber with a two finger head. I could pour this from a third story window and I don't think I'd get much more of a head. Disappears quickly, it's almost gone as I'm finishing this sentence.
Smell
Upfront citrus smell with a bit of hops added in. A slight malty undertone to it as well, it just cuts through enough to pick up. not as hoppy as I thought it would be considering it's an IPA, and no real apricot smell, either.
Taste
A slightly sweet, very citrusy (that IS a word.....) taste that blasts me right away. Like I just bit into a grapefruit. Reminds me a bit of some of the lambic beers I've tried. I very dry finish with just a hint of alcohol. There's a distinct 'bitterness' to it that I don't care for...while I've never tried it, I'm almost thinking this is what straight fruit extract tastes like...it's kind of like apricots, but without the sweetness. For an IPA I was disappointed in the lack of hops. Maybe that's the aging toning it down a bit...or maybe it's that nasty faux-apricot taste overpowering it.
Mouth
Average body with a decent amount of carbonation. It's acidic at first then warms up a bit with the alcohol aftertaste. Reasonably balanced, I don't have many complaints here.
Overall
It's...OK. It's a step up from the first one I had, that's for sure. I just really can't get around that nasty fake apricot taste. Then again...I did say I hated fruit beers...this will not be an exception to that rule. This seems like a far deviation from a traditional IPA. Props to DFH for doing something different...but perhaps they should switch directions with this one. I'm always up for a new style or deviation thereof, so it's a good thing brewers are still trying...even if the results are less then desirable.
I'm halfway through right now, and I'll finish it just to say I finished it...I might have to try it on tap to see if it's any better, or maybe try a different batch. Maybe you can still have a case of the Monday's at a brewery...I give it a 0.5/4.0
Rating System
Figured it'd be a good idea to post a 'cheat sheet' of sorts so you all can actually know what I'm thinking...
I'm basing all my scores on a standard 4 point system just like in the good 'ole days of high school and college...a score of 4.0 is the best, and 0.0 is a score of go home and try again.
This should help give you an idea of what a specific number score means in my head:
4.0 Best beer of this particular style. Not my absolute favorite beer of all time ever in the history of Joeywhat, but definitely the best I've had of that individual style of beer.
3.0-3.9 Very good beer that I would drink again. Something I'd order at the bar if I saw it was on tap. Very good representation of the style, it tastes great and tastes like it should. A beer that I'll make a point of buying on a regular basis.
2.0-2.9 Good beer that stays true to the style, but has some flaws. One of those beers that I'd have again if I saw it in a store and was in the mood for that style. Not a favorite, but it's beer...and beer is good.
1.5-1.9 Mediocre brew that doesn't stick to the style it's supposed to be, and/or just doesn't taste good. Might have serious flaws in it, might just be a bad recipe. This is something that I'll avoid, but if you put it in front me (and the bill in front of you...) I'll drink it just for shits and giggles.
0.1-1.4 BAD beer. Tastes bad, smells bad, looks bad...I can finish it, but I won't enjoy it. I would NOT seek this beer out in any way, shape or form.
0.0 This is reserved for the bad of the bad. One of those beers that is so skanky and awful that you just have to throw it out. If a beer gets this distinction, please walk away...in fact run away, because it might be radioactive and cancer is a bitch.
So I hope this helps everyone out a bit. I didn't want people to think that a beer with a 2.0 or 2.5 rating was bad...rather it's just a little bit special and needs to take the different bus to school.
Sunday, November 1, 2009
Why are you here?
Or more importantly...why am I here?
Sort of jumped into things and never bothered to offer an 'intro' of sorts so all you fine folks know what you're supposed to be reading, and what might be coming around the corner. I created this with the primary intentions of documenting all the beers I've tried and my recently renewed homebrewing operation. I haven't been drinking beer for very long, however I've made it a point to go and try every micro and macro out there to be drank...or is that drunk? I can think of no better way to track what's been had and what hasn't...and more importantly what was good and what tasted like a well used tire.
I'm also on the verge of homebrewing again. I had a stint a few years back where I made quite a few brews, and by the end it was GOOD. And more importantly, I LIKED it! It's such a fun process and the results are very rewarding. I'll be using this to document my brews from start to finish, and to show my progression in equipment, recipes and skills as time goes on. My ultimate goal in doing this is to potentially start my own brewpub...many years down the road.
So I hope you all enjoy my findings and endeavors into beerdom, please feel free to comment and let me know what you think! I'm always open for suggestions on good homebrew recipes and different craft beers that I may not have heard of yet. Now I'm back to work...I have a fridge full of good beer that needs reviewing!
Friday, October 30, 2009
Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

I first had this beer at Ashley's in Ann Arbor on tap. It used the 'nitro tap' which gave it an incredibly creamy taste, similar to Guinness. I had to have it again, so I picked up a few bottles while I was out to see how it would compare.
12 fl.oz bottle, poured in glass
Appearance
It pours like well used motor oil...thick and BLACK. It's completel opaque with a huge, caramel colored head. No carbonation to be seen and it looks like a rare, yet to be discovered ancient sea creature might actually live in it. Lacey head that lingers on the glass while drinking.
Smell
Strong, almost burnt caramel aroma with a hint of coffee and lots of malt. Just a hints of flower makes it out as well.
Taste
Coffee, molasses, dark chocolate and a well done dulce de leche taste are present. Like it had been cooked on too high of heat and had burnt just a tad. I can taste the alcohol (it DOES have 9% ABV...) but there's enough going on that it's not out of balance. A LOT of malt flavours to balance out the high alcohol content.
Mouth
Very thick with a little carbonation. Just tickles my tongue a bit as it goes down. Nice, smooth feel that is reminiscent of what I had on tap, just not quite as creamy. It's like someone poured heavy cream in my beer...it's that smooth and creamy.
Overall
This is the best Russian Imperial I've had ever. It's so much better on tap, but the bottled stuff really does it well, too. It's one of those beers that I want to have more then one or two, but just can't because of the high ABV. I give it a 3.8/4.0
Wells Banana Bread Beer

I'll start this one off with a few facts...1) I LOVE bananas and banana bread, and 2) I HATE fruit beers, especially when they have fruit in the name...just an FYI.
1pt 0.9 fl.oz bottle, poured in glass
Appearance
It pured a nice, medium gold color. Very little effervescence and a two finger thick head that dissappeared somewhat quickly. Very clear, I really liked the color.
Smell
It smelled like banana bread! And not like bananas...but like fresh cooked homemade banana bread. Not very strong, but just enough there to know what you're smelling. No hop semll at all and a slight 'other' sweetness that I couldn't place...the banana bread smell kept me occupied.
Taste
Doesn't taste like banana bread at all. The fruit flavor isn't overwhelming, but it's defenitely there and in your face. Definitely taste the banana, and a little citrus as well, mostly grapefruit. Aftertaste is a little bitter...hops finally make a scene there. No real hop taste otherwise. A little acidic and not much alcohol taste...reasonably balanced and it goes down OK. Nice malt background. I could drink a few of these no problem.
Mouth
Pretty light...not Bud or Miller Lite light...but it's down on the scale. Feels thin and well carbonated. Not too carbonated...but enough for the style. A little dry and moderately sweet, it's something that goes down easy.
Overall
I feel this is OK. Like I said, I don't like fruit beers. I probably won't buy this again, but put it in front of me and I'll probably drink one or three. I give it a 2.4(out of 4.0) overall.